Links

The links included on this page are a mixture of organizations that I am a member of, tourism and arts sites related to Val-David, Quebec and other sites which may be of interest to those of you who are woodworkers. Click on the site name to open a new browser window at that location.

Wood Suppliers

Les Bois Ynovack: A newly discovered supplier when I lived in Quebec, this company based just outside of Victoriaville, offers a wide selection of domestic and imported hardwoods. This family run business was very helpful when I recently was searching for a large sized maple burl for a particular commission.

Exotic Woods Inc: I have been buying wood from John Sr., John Jr., and Mel Hordyk for over ten years, and have never failed to be impressed with their knowledge, friendly service and desire to find just the right piece of wood. Their selection of domestic and imported hardwoods is tremendous, as is the range of burl woods from around the world.

Woodfinder: This is a site I recently discovered that provides links to hundreds of wood supply companies across North America. It has several search capabilities, including being able to search by species, location or both. A great site for locating that hard to find piece.

Craft Supplies

Jacques Coulombe Ltd: A small company with a fairly limited product array, but they have the best prices I've come across for Cyanoacrylate (CA) glue and some sanding discs. Worth checking out for the pricing.

Lee Valley: Lee Valley is well known to any woodworker or gardener for their high quality tools and accessories. In addition to their mail order and retail locations, they now have an on-line order service.

The Woodturners Catalog: An amazing selection of project supplies, tools and reference materials (books and videos).

Partnerships & Organizations

Imaginewood: This company based in Combermere, Ontario, has developed an extensive line of hard maple kitchen utensils. Marcel and Nicole put a lot of work into product testing each utensil, and have a great array of wooden serving and cooking items. I have included a link to their site as they have a great combination salad tong that can be used either with one hand or two. These tongs work very well with my bowls. I am also working with Marcel to develop a cheese knife to compliment my fruit and cheese platters.

The Ontario Crafts Council: Celebrating it's 25th anniversary this year, the OCC is dedicated to supporting and promoting the works of Ontario craftspeople through educational programs, tours and exhibitions, grants and awards. The OCC also operates The Guild Shop in downtown Toronto which showcases and retails the work of members.

American Association of Woodturners: This is North America's largest woodturning organization with chapters across the US and Canada. International membership is growing. The AAW publishes quarterly the American Woodturner, a journal devoted to all aspects of woodturning, design, art and craft. Early every summer the AAW also holds a well attended weekend conference where turners of all skill levels gather to trade stories, watch the best in the field demonstrate their techniques and admire and critique each others work in the Instant Gallery.

Tourism

The following links will take you to local tourism and municipal websites for the Warkworth area. Here you can find information on up-coming events, accommodation and local businesses.

            www.warkworth.ca

            www.trenthills.ca

            www.trenthillschamber.ca

            www.northumberlandtourism.com

Liens

Vous trouverez sur cette page divers liens vers des sites susceptibles d’intéresser les tourneurs de bois, notamment, des organismes dont je suis membre, des détaillants et des sites touristiques pour Val-David. Il suffit de cliquer sur le nom du site pour ouvrir une nouvelle fenêtre.

Fournisseurs de bois

Les Bois Ynovack: Cette compagnie, située près de Victoriaville, offre un grand choix de bois francs, domestiques aussi bien qu’importes. Il s’agit d’une entreprise familiale qui a pu trouver une loupe à grandes dimensions dont j’avais besoin pour une commande particulière.

Exotic Woods Inc: J’achète des essences exotiques de John le père, John le fils et Mel Hordyk depuis plus de dix ans et leurs connaissances, le niveau de service qu’ils offrent et leur désir de me trouver la pièce de bois qu’il me faut ne cessent de m’étonner. On y trouve un vaste choix de bois durs importés et canadiens et des loupes de partout au monde.

Woodfinder: J’ai découvert ce site tout récemment. Il offre des liens vers d’autres compagnies d’approvisionnement en bois d’Amérique du Nord. Le site permet d’effectuer de nombreuses recherches par espèces, par provenance ou les deux. Il s’agit d’un site très intéressant pour trouver la pièce de bois qu’il vous faut.

Matériel d’artisanat

Jacques Coulombe Ltée: Petite société québécoise qui a un choix plutôt limité de produits mais chez qui on peut trouver l’adhésif cyano-acrylate (CA) et certains disques à poncer à un prix très avantageux. Il vaut la peine de vérifier leurs prix.

Lee Valley: Lee Valley est bien connue des tourneurs de bois et des jardiniers pour la grande qualité de leurs outils et accessoires. Outre leur service de commande par correspondance et leurs divers magasins, ils offrent maintenant un service de commande en ligne.

Le Woodturners Catalog: Choix exceptionnel de fournitures, d’outils et de documents de référence (livres et vidéos).

Partenariats et Organisations

Imaginewood: Société ayant son siège social à Combermere (Ontario) a développé un grand nombre d’ustensiles de cuisine en érable. Marcel et Nicole ont consacré beaucoup de temps et d’énergie à vérifier chaque couvert et ustensile et ils ont, en magasin, une pléthore d’ustensiles à servir et de cuisine faits en bois. Nous vous donnons le lien vers leur site puisque ils offrent des pinces à salade (qu’on peut utiliser en se servant d’une ou de deux mains) qui conviennent tout à fait aux bols que nous fabriquons. David travaille également avec Marcel à l’élaboration d’un couteau à fromage qui se marierait bien avec ses plateaux à fruits et à fromage.

The Ontario Crafts Council: L’Ontario Crafts Council célèbre le 25e anniversaire de sa fondation cette année. L’organisme appuie les œuvres des artisans ontariens par le truchement de programmes, de visites commentées et d’expositions, de bourses et de prix. Il en fait également la promotion. L’OCC dirige également le Guild Shop, à Toronto, qui expose et vend les œuvres de ses membres.

American Association of Woodturners: Il s’agit de la plus importante organisation de tourneurs de bois qui a des sections partout aux États-Unis et au Canada. En outre, de plus en plus de personnes de l’étranger deviennent membres de cette association. L’AAW publie une revue trimestrielle, American Woodturner, qui est consacrée à tous les aspects du tournage, de la conception, de l’artisanat et de l’art. Chaque année, au début de l’été, l’AAW tient également une conférence qui dure une fin de semaine et au cours de laquelle les tourneurs de tous les niveaux se réunissent pour échanger, admirer les meilleurs tourneurs qui démontrent leur savoir faire et critiquer les œuvres de leurs confrères dans la Instant Gallery.

Tourisme

Les liens suivants vous aideront à identifier des sources d'information touristique pour Warkworth, le village le plus près du studio. Vous y trouverez des événements, de l'hébergement et d'autres entreprises intéressantes.

            www.warkworth.ca

            www.trenthills.ca

            www.trenthillschamber.ca

            www.northumberlandtourism.com